A Co-Worker is leaving, now what?

It has happened to all of us. We go to a meeting just to find out that one of our co-workers has taken another job. The first thought that goes through my head, after the obvious “are they still hiring?” question, is who is going to pick up the slack and help out? This made me think a little more about job roles and how to expand your knowledge (and resume).

There is no better time to step up and offer to take over responsibilities then the moment a co-workers turns in notice. Before I even had time to think about it today, I offered to take over some of my (soon to be previous) co-workers responsibilities. The only problem, he works on Business Objects and DB2 which I have no experience in. My manager looked at me like I was crazy, but I told him, let me look into it, I think I can figure it out. Was I talking out of my league? Of course, but every manager appreciates an employee that can volunteer at will and is willing to take on new challenges. The best way for me to learn is to try. I can read text books all day and fall asleep, but if I can get my hands on something and really research it, I will eventually figure it out.

Have you ever experienced this? How did you handle it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

